Reading, Reading, Reading

Before the end of 2012, I decided that I wanted to read more. I had a modest goal of 6 books in 2013. That was a very modest book for every two months. It doesn’t take me that long to read one book, but since I maybe read 3 books in 2012 I thought this would be a fairly attainable goal to try and hit.

I’ve learned making realistic goals is important, but in this case I made it almost too easy to smash through. It’s only July and I’ve already read 12 books and I’m pretty proud for far. Here’s my list and a review of one of the first books I read this year…

  1. Never Let Me Go
  2. The 100 Year old Man who climbed out the window…
  3. God Bless you Mr. Rosewater
  4. Crap Kingdom
  5. A Bad Idea I’m About To Do
  6. Redwall
  7. Animal Farm
  8. Fear & Loathing in Las Vegas
  9. The Hound of Baskerville
  10. Dune
  11. High Fidelity
  12. The Outsiders

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window And Disappeared

This book was pretty great for a best-seller. It’s a unique and funny story about an old man who’s sick of being too old to function and decides to escape his nursing home. Even though he’s 100, he’s pretty spry, and his adventure is quite enjoyable.

Through the story the book flashes back to interesting moments in the 100-year-old man’s live and catches the reader up on how he became such an interesting character. Turns out the old man is a bit of a Forest Gump type character. He’s unwittingly pulled in to several crazy situations that seem innocuous at first, but turn out being extremely important (or boring events directly related to) moments in history.

World wars, civil wars, explosions, gangsters, elephants, all that and much more. This book is pretty funny, and a bonafide page-turner. Buy it for yourself and LOL while you READ.

2 comments
  1. johnpb said:

    Based on this list you should read Raymond Carver. There’s so many short stories to choose from too. “Cathedral” is a really good collection.

Leave a Reply

